Friday March 31, 2017
KING'S LYNN claimed the first Major Event honours of the 2017 series as Chris Holder and Rob Lambert were crowned SGB Premiership Pairs Champions.

The duo went unbeaten during the group stages before holding their nerve against Wolverhampton in the Grand Final.

A combination of fast gating and brave swoops around the outside earned a well deserved victory on the night, much to the delight of the pairing.

Said Holder: "It's a great way for me to get my season going as well as my spot with King's Lynn I guess.

"It was a tough meeting but Rob was on a mission and we worked good as a team."

Meanwhile Lambert said: "I've been with the Stars for a few years now and we've never won anything so this means a lot to me especially.

"How we've started is definitely how we intend to go so hopefully this is going to be a big year for us."

In front of a bumper crowd at Somerset's Oaktree Arena, King's Lynn romped through Group B as they secured three 7-2 heat maximums.
They were joined in the semi-finals by Rye House pairing Scott Nicholls and Chris Harris who finished four points ahead of Leicester.

After being the only duo in their section to avoid last places, Wolverhampton's Freddie Lindgren and Jacob Thorssell scored 17 to top Group A.

And despite falling behind early doors to hosts Somerset, Swindon pairing Jason Doyle and Nick Morris fought back to squeeze the Robins through to the next round.

Despite Doyle becoming the first man on the night to defeat Holder and Lambert, Swindon left the competition in the penultimate round after Nick Morris finished in last place.

Wolverhampton made a quick getaway in their semi-final and secured a fairly comfortable 7-2 over Rye House to book their place in the final.

King's Lynn's Holder and Lambert got the better of their Wolverhampton counterparts away from the tapes and when Lindgren's bike packed up on the third lap, victory was confirmed for the Norfolk outfit.

WOLVERHAMPTON 17: Freddie Lindgren 10 & Jacob Thorssell 7.
SWINDON 14: Jason Doyle 10 & Nick Morris 4.
SOMERSET 12: Rohan Tungate 6 & Patrick Hougaard 6.
BELLE VUE 11: Craig Cook 7 & Max Fricke 4.

KING’S LYNN 21: Chris Holder 11 & Robert Lambert 10.
RYE HOUSE 15: Scott Nicholls 10 & Chris Harris 5.
LEICESTER 11: Kim Nilsson 7 & Danny King 4.
POOLE 7: Brady Kurtz 4 & Jack Holder 3.

SEMI-FINAL 1: Thorssell, Lindgren, Harris, Nicholls (Wolverhampton 7 Rye House 2)
SEMI-FINAL 2: Doyle, Lambert, Holder, Morris (King’s Lynn 5 Swindon 4)
GRAND FINAL: Lambert, Holder, Thorssell, Lindgren (ret) (King’s Lynn 7 Wolverhampton 2)



Share This:   Facebook Twitter